Planning Commission

The Planning Commission is made up of five (5) officers who are appointed by City Council. All Commissioners must be a Santa Fe Springs resident and are required to take an oath of office prior to commencing their term of office.

Based upon research and recommendations provided by the Planning Department, the Planning Commission is entrusted with making decisions on proposed developments and improvements and propose recommendations for City Council action.  Items brought before the Planning Commission for consideration include: Development Plan Approvals; Conditional Use Permits; Modification Permits; Variances, Zone Changes and General Plan Amendments.

If you have any questions or need to contact any Planning Commissioner, please call the Planning Department @ City Hall 562-868-0511 Ext. 7550.

The Planning Commission meets on the 2nd Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m. in City Hall - Council Chambers.

Electronically using Zoom:

Go to and click on “Join A Meeting” or use the following link: 12SmJlQT09

Zoom Meeting ID: 558 333 944

Password: 554545


Dial: 888-475-4499

Meeting ID: 558 333 944



The current Planning Commission members 
as of 03/2019 are:

Frank Ybarra, Chairperson

Ken Arnold, Vice Chairperson

Ralph Aranda, Commissioner

Gabriel Jimenez, Commissioner

Francis Carbajal, Commissioner

 Click on the link below to view archived documents

Please check the Planning Commission Archive for additional Planning Commission documents.


Click on the link below to view Planning Commission Agendas and Minutes

 01-11-2021 01-11-2021   
  12-14-2020  12-14-2020   
 11-09-2020 11-09-2020   
 10-12-2020 10-12-2020   
 09-14-2020 09-14-2020   
August Meeting Adjournment Notice
 07-13-2020 07-13-2020
 06-08-2020 06-08-2020  06-08-2020
05-11-2020 05-11-2020  05-11-2020
 04-13-2020 04-13-2020  04-13-2020 
 03-09-2020 03-09-2020  03-09-2020
 02-12-2020  02-12-2020  02-12-2020 
 01-13-2020 01-13-2020 01-13-2020